[, ]
Ebay spoof
I just got a very convincing email requesting clarification of an ebay item. However, I don't have any listed. I clicked on the link, and it sent me to some bogus website. Luckly, also, Mozilla (ver 2) was able to detect the bogus website and give a very obvious alert. As you can see, this looks just like a normal ebay email (html stuff removed, why help the spoofers out?), so it's very convincing. The point is that spoofers are getting increasingly sophisticated in their requests for personal info, but you can almost always see if the website is fake by looking at the address bar. In this case the address should have been www.ebay.com, but it was something else. This is the major thing to look out for with fake websites.

The email subject was "Question from eBay Member — Respond Now"

And the body included:

eBay sent this message!
Your registered name is included to show this message originated from eBay. Learn more.

eBay sent this message on behalf of an eBay member via My Messages. Responses sent using email will not reach the eBay member. Use the Respond Now button below to respond to this message.

Question from user

hello,
i am K.Terson and i am real intersted in your item .. please tell me how much is shipping to Roma (Italy,Europe)?? i have the money and i am ready to pay this item only through ebay (PayPal). Let me Know

Sincerly Karl Terson


Respond to this question in My Messages.

Respond Now





Thank you for using eBay

http://www.ebay.com/